Logo UHasselt


About UHasselt


Logo UHasselt Universiteit Hasselt - Knowledge in action


Hasselt University is a young university that has achieved enormous growth in the past four decades.


The Limburg University Centre (LUC for short) – the predecessor of Hasselt University - officially opens to students in Diepenbeek, two years after the legal authorisation of the creation of an autonomous university institution in Limburg. LUC starts with six programmes: mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, dentistry and medicine.


Limburg Economic University College is integrated into LUC and becomes the Faculty of Economic Science (now the Faculty of Business Economics).


LUC and Maastricht University jointly establish the Transnational University of Limburg (tUL) – an internationally unique partnership of two universities in two countries. The computer science, statistics and biomedical sciences programmes are organised under the tUL umbrella.


LUC and the Limburg university colleges PHL and XIOS (which have since merged to form PXL University College) together form the Limburg University and Colleges Association (AUHL).


The Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes in transportation sciences – the only ones of their kind in Flanders – are added to the curriculum.


The Limburg University Centre is renamed Hasselt University, or UHasselt for short.


Hasselt University launches its Bachelor of Law degree, a collaboration with Maastricht University and KU Leuven. Three years later, a Master’s programme in law follows.


Hasselt University opens a second campus: the ‘urban campus’ in the centre of Hasselt. Hasselt Campus includes the Rectorate Building, the Law Faculty building and – right at the centre – the Oude Gevangenis (Old Prison). This is the place where law students attend classes and where new students must register.


Four new programmes are introduced in Hasselt University in the academic year 2013-2014:
• architecture
• interior architecture
• engineering technology
• rehabilitation sciences and physiotherapy

At the same time, two new faculties are established:
• Faculty of Architecture and Art
• Faculty of Engineering Technology

This increases the number of faculties from four (Business Economics, Medicine and Life Sciences, Law and Sciences) to six.


Hasselt University establishes the School of Transportation Sciences and the Hasselt University School for Expert Education (UHasselt SEE).


The Faculty of Business Economics launches the business administration programme.