Logo UHasselt


About UHasselt


Logo UHasselt Universiteit Hasselt - Knowledge in action



Hasselt University has six faculties that control teaching and research. Each faculty forms an education management team (OMT) and an Examination Board for each programme.


Various departments operate within the faculties. These bring together all staff performing research and teaching within the same discipline. Each department in turn consists of one or more research groups. These are responsible for the organisation of specialist research.

Running across this classic tree structure of faculties, research groups and departments are the research institutes. These group together researchers from different research groups who perform research in certain priority areas. The entire research spectrum is covered in this way, from fundamental research via applied research to practical applications.

Services and offices

Transnational University Limburg (tUL)

The Transnational University of Limburg is a unique partnership of two universities in two countries: Hasselt University and Maastricht University. The computer science / knowledge technology, statistics and biomedical sciences / molecular life sciences programmes have already been brought into this partnership. The Bachelor of Law programme is a joint initiative of Hasselt University, Maastricht University and KU Leuven. Collaborations with other universities are also being sought in other scientific fields.

Limburg Association of Higher Education (AUHL)

Together with PXL College, Hasselt University and the Transnational University of Limburg form the Limburg University and Colleges Association.